The company said on its website Wednesday that five varieties of Cheerios will be going gluten free: Original Cheerios, Honey Nut, Multi-Grain, Apple Cinnamon and Frosted.
"We’ve developed a way – years in the making – to sort out the small amount of wheat, rye and barley in our supply of whole oats that are inadvertently introduced at the farms where the oats were grown, or during transportation of the whole oats to the mill," the company said.
"This ensures that the oats used for Cheerios allow us to meet the FDA’s strict guideline for gluten free."
The Multi-Grain Cheerios will be reformulated to replace wheat and barley with sorghum and millet. The other four will basically remain the same.
The gluten-free Cheerios products will be available beginning in July.