Wednesday, March 13, 2013

Peeps for Easter? They say they're gluten free

You may have read the story this week about the 60th anniversary of Peeps. What you may not know about the marshmallow treats is that they are gluten free, according to their manufacturer, Just Born Inc.

Peeps are labeled as gluten free on the back of their package, at least according to the ingredients. But there is a word of caution on the company's website:

"The modified food starch that we use in our candies is corn starch.  However, because some of our products may be manufactured and/or packaged in a facility that may also handle non gluten-free products, we encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for the most up-to-date ingredient and allergen information."

So maybe you can eat Peeps for Easter. Or maybe not. I think the important message here is that Peeps are a reminder that a gluten-free diet is not necessarily a healthy diet, unless you're on a total sugar diet.

No comments:

Post a Comment